Christmas point in De Goffert: NEC lives up in extension and eliminates Fortuna Sittard

The participants field of the quarter-finals of the KNVB Cup is almost complete: NEC joined Excelsior, Vitesse, PSV, sc Heerenveen, Feyenoord and Ajax. The Nijmegen Kuisine Champion Division Club won on Thursday after extension surprisingly from Fortuna Sittard.

Both clubs completed an exciting cup fight in De Goffert in the 2018/2019 season, but this time needed more time to get started. The first significant opportunity could be noted at a stroke of rest: Samuel Moutoussamy had the ball before walking in, but couldn‘t get him across the line in an incomprehensible way.
After an hour of play, Fortuna broke the game open. Outstanding Zian Flemming was initially held on the bench, but after an hour left for Moutoussamy: he was not allowed to dock twice in the penalty area long after his entrance and put his old club at a 0-1 arrears. However, NEC showed resilience and barely two minutes later already caught the 1-1. Souffian El Karouani swung the ball from the left, Rangelo Janga headed it behind Alexei Koselev.

That equal position was also on the signs after ninety minutes, which meant that both shifts had to extend. In the opening quarter, it suddenly went completely loose. Sebastian Polter pulled Cas Odenthal’s shirt in his own penalty area and NEC received a penalty: Jordy Bruijn made it 2-1, in favor of the hosts. Not long after that it also became 3-1: Koselev saved half on a headball of Janga, Thomas Beekman shot into the rebound.

Even before both shifts changed half, it was also 3-2. Flemming was sent into the depth and made his second of the evening. In the second quarter, the main thing was to stop NEC โ€” apart from one dangerous outage via Janga โ€” which, however, continued, thanks to goalkeeper Mattijs Branderhorst.
The team of Rogier Meijer has been able to present itself in the quarterfinal of the KNVB Cup for the first time since 2014. Later on the Thursday it is necessary to find out who will be the eighth and last quarter-finalist. VVV-Venlo and Go Ahead Eagles kick off at 21:00 hrs in De Koel.