Four Dutch Defenders nominated for UEFA Team of the Year

Four Dutch players have a chance to win a spot in the UEFA Fans Team of the Year. Stefan de Vrije, Matthijs de Lit, Hans Hateboer and Virgil van Dijk are nominated by the European Football Association.

UEFA is putting together a team of the Year 2020 with the help of fans. A total of 50 players have been nominated: five goalkeepers, fifteen defenders, fifteen midfielders and fifteen attackers. Voting can be done until 6 January.
Only in the category of defenders do the Dutch have a chance. Apart from Van Dijk (Liverpool), all nominated Oranje internationals play in Serie A with De Vrij (Internazionale), De Lit (Juventus) and Hateboer (Atalanta Bergamo). Champions League winner Bayern Munich is not entirely surprising court supplier with eight players.

UEFA Fans #TeamOfTheYear is back! Ðÿ¥³5ï¸â£0ï¸â£ stars compete for YOUR vote ðÿšwho will you put in your top 11 of 2020? Ðÿ¤” Д” Д”” PICK NOW! Д”” Д”
— UEFA Champions League (@ChampionsLeague) December 1, 2020

Women can also vote for a team of the Year. Vivianne Miedema, Jill Roord, Danielle van de Donk, Dominique Janssen and Sari van Veenendaal are the Dutch contenders.