Participation of 40 countries in the “Ministerial Conference to Support the Autonomy Initiative under the Sovereignty of Morocco”

A total of 40 countries took part in the Ministerial Conference to Support the Autonomy Initiative under the Sovereignty of Morocco, organized virtually Friday at the invitation of the Kingdom of Morocco and the United States of America.

In addition to Morocco, Zambia, Gabon, Guinea, Comoros, Gambia, Guinea-Bissau, Equatorial Guinea, Malawi, Togo, Liberia, Sao Tome and Principe, Benin, Bahrain, Saint Lucia, Antigua and Barbuda, Haiti, United Arab Emirates, Guatemala and the Dominican Republic.

Barbados, Jamaica, Maldives, El Salvador, Senegal, Qatar, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Côte dIvoire, Djibouti, Eswatini, Jordan, Oman, France, Egypt, Papua New Guinea, Tonga, Kuwait, Yemen and Burkina Faso also took part in the meeting.

The majority of participants in the Conference expressed strong support for the Moroccan Autonomy Initiative as the sole basis for a just and lasting solution to the Sahara regional conflict.

Participants pledged to continue to advocate for a solution based solely on the Moroccan Autonomy Initiative for the resolution of the Sahara conflict, according to the Synthesis of Presidents published at the end of the Conference.

Representing 40 countries, 27 of which were represented at ministerial level, participants also welcomed the development projects launched in the region, notably under the New Model for Development of the Southern Provinces.