Program World Cup darts: Michael van Gerwen back in action on Sunday

Eleven Dutch darters started on Tuesday 15 December at the World Championships darts. Michael van Gerwen is among the favorites for the final victory. The triple World Champion came into action on Saturday 19 December for the first time.

Van Gerwen had a bye in the first round. The number one in the world then played against Ryan Murray, who defeated Lourence Ilagan in the first round with 3-1, and Van Gerwen immediately impressed with an average of 108.98 and a 3-1 win in sets.

Besides Van Gerwen, four Dutch people had a bye. Jeffrey de Zwaan, Jermaine Wattimena, Danny Noppert and Vincent van der Voort belong to the top-32 of the so-called Order of Merit and therefore only flowed in the second round. In the end, Martijn Tailor tested positive for corona, so he had to withdraw from the World Cup.

Reigning champion Peter Wright kicked off the opening night. The eccentric Scot finished Steve West: 3-1 in sets. Wright won the world title at the expense of Van Gerwen in the last edition. He defeated the then title holder in the final with 7-3 in sets.

The World Championship will be completed at Alexandra Palace. Initially, there might be an audience present, up to a maximum of a thousand spectators per session. But thats not going to happen. Only on the opening evening public welcome, then the World Cup will take place behind closed doors again because of the measures announced by the British Government.

Playing schedule World Cup darts

Tuesday 15 December – evening session

Steve West – Amit Gilitwala (R1) 3-0
Steve Beaton – Diogo Portela (R1) 0-3
Jeff Smith – Keane Barry (R1) 3-1
Peter Wright – Steve West (R2) 3-1

Wednesday 16 December – afternoon session

Ryan Joyce – Karel Sedlacek (R1) 3-2
Ross Smith – David Evans (R1) 3-0
William O
Connor – Niels Sunfield (R1) 3-0
Chris Dobey – Jeff Smith (R2) 3-2

Wednesday 16 December – evening session

Max Hopp – Gordon Mathers (R1) 3-0
Callan Rydz – James Bailey (R1) 3-1
Adam Hunt – Lisa Ashton (R1) 3-2
Glen Durrant – Diogo Portela (R2) 3-0

Thursday 17 December – afternoon session

Madars Razma – Toru Suzuki (R1) 3-0
Mike The Decker – Edward Foulkes (R1) 0-3
Ryan Murray – Lourence Ilagan (R1) 3-1
Daryl Gurney – William OConnor (R2) 3-2

Thursday 17 December – evening session

Luke Woodhouse – Jamie Lewis (R1) 2-3
Ron Meulenkamp – Boris Krcmar (R1) 3-1
Ryan Searle – Danny Lauby (R1) 3-2
Jose de Sousa – Ross Smith (R2) 3-1

Friday 18 December – afternoon session

Mickey Mansell – Haupai Puha (R1) 3-0
Darius Labanauskas – Chengan Liu (R1) 3-0
Wayne Jones – Ciaran Teehan (R1) 3-2
Jamie Hughes – Adam Hunt (R2) 0-3

Friday 18 December – evening session

Dirk van Duijvenbode – Bradley Brooks (R1) 3-2
John Henderson – Marko Kantele (R1) 3-2
Luke Humphries – Paul Lim (R1) 2-3
James Wade – Callan Rydz (R2) 3-0

Saturday 19 December – afternoon session

Steve Lennon – Daniel Larsson (R1) 3-1
Scott Waites – Matt Campbell (R1) 3-2
Kim Huybrechts – Di Zhuang (R1) 3-0
Mervyn King – Max Hopp (R2) 3-1

Saturday 19 December – evening session

Andy Hamilton – Nico Kurz (R1) 1-3
Andy Boulton – Deta Hedman (R1) 3-1
Damon Heta – Danny Baggish (R1) 2-3
Michael van Gerwen – Ryan Murray (R2) 3-1

Sunday 20 December – afternoon session

Derk Telnekes – Nick Kenny (R1) 2-3
Jason Lowe – Dmitriy Gorbunov (R1) 3-1
Maik Kuivenhoven – Matthew Edgar (R1) 0-3
Vincent van der Voort – Meulenkamp (R2) 3-2

Sunday 20 December – evening session

Martijn Tailor – Cameron Carolissen (R1) walk over (Tailor tested positive on corona)
Keegan Brown – Ryan Meikle (R1) 3-0
Jeffrey the Swan – Searle/Lauby (R2) 0-3
Jonny Clayton – Henderson/Kantele (R2) 3-1

Monday 21 December – evening session

Krzysztof Ratajski – Ryan Joyce (R2) 3-0
Ian White – Kim Huybrechts (R2) 1-3
Gerwyn Price – Jamie Lewis (R2) 3-2
Gabriel Clemens – Nico Kurz (R2) 3-1

Tuesday 22 December – afternoon session

Brendan Dolan – Edward Foulkes (R2) 3-1
Joe Cullen – Wayne Jones (R2) 3-0
Simon Whitlock – Darius Labanauskas (R2) 3-2
Adrian Lewis – Danny Baggish (R2) 1-3

Tuesday 22 December – evening session

Danny Noppert – Cameron Carolissen (R2) 3-1
Devon Petersen – Steve Lennon (R2) 3-1
Rob Cross – Dirk van Duijvenbode (R2) 2-3
Dimitri Van den Bergh – Paul Lim (R2) 3-0

Wednesday 23 December – afternoon session

Ricky Evans – Mickey Mansell (R2) 3-1
Gary Anderson – Madars Razma (R2) 3-1
Stephen Bunting – Andy Boulton (R2) 3-2
Mensur Suljovic – Matthew Edgar (R2) 3-1

Wednesday 23 December – evening session

Dave Chisnall – Keegan Brown (R2) 3-1
Jermaine Wattimena – Nick Kenny (R2) 3-1
Nathan Aspinall – Scott Waites (R2) 3-2
Michael Smith – Jason Lowe (R2) 1-3

Sunday 27 December – afternoon session

Krzysztof Ratajski – Simon Whitlock (R3)
Kim Huybrechts – Ryan Searle (R3)
Dimitri Van den Bergh – Jermaine Wattimena (R3)

Sunday 27 December – evening session

Joe Cullen -Jonny Clayton (R3)
Peter Wright – Gabriel Clemens (R3)
Michael van Gerwen – Ricky Evans (R3)

Monday 28 December – afternoon session

Jose de Sousa – Mervyn King (R3)
Dirk van Duijvenbode – Adam Hunt (R3)
Nathan Aspinall – Vincent van der Voort (R3)

Monday 28 December – evening session

Gary Anderson – Mensur Suljovic (R3)
Gerwyn Price – Brendan Dolan (R3)
Glen Durrant – Danny Baggish (R3)

Tuesday 29 December – afternoon session

James Wade – Stephen Bunting (R3)
Daryl Gurney – Chris Dobey (R3)
Jason Lowe – Devon Petersen (R3)

Tuesday 29 December – evening session

Dave Chisnall – Danny Noppert (R3)
To be determined: two parties in eighth finals