Tottenham drought continues, Man City picks fourth League Cup in a row

Manchester City can win three top prizes this season and has already received the first one. Pep Guardiola‘s team won its fourth League Cup final in a row under the watchful eye of eight thousand Wembley visitors: Tottenham Hotspur went through a late hit by Aymeric Laporte.
Manchester City will soon crowns the champions of the Champions League, while Tottenham won the final prize in the 2007/2008 season. The Citizens were favorites and got the biggest chances of the first half: however, Phil Foden hit the pole via Toby Alderweireld and Riyad Mahrez shot right next door.
Shortly after rest, City goalkeeper Zack Steffen was tested by Giovani Lo Celso, but it remained all Manchester City that struck the clock. This did not give any chances for a long time, but in the final phase the pressure of the blues increased. Ilkay Gรผndogan and Mahrez were unsuccessful, but eight minutes before the 1-0 fell: Laporte turned his head against a turning front of Kevin De Bruyne and passed Hugo Lloris.
The 29-year-old Tottenham manager Ryan Mason brought the six-year younger Steven Bergwijn within the lines just before, but Manchester City did not lose the lead. Mahrez even seemed to make the 2-0, but that hit was rejected. Manchester City is now preparing for the Champions League diptych with Paris Saint-Germain, while Tottenham has to go all the way to get European football.

There’s the liberating 1-0! โšฝ City has been knocking at the door of Lloris all the game, and eventually the defender Laporte, who kicks in after a free kick of De Bruyne ๐Ÿ”ฅ City, seems to win the 4th League Cup in a row! ๐Ÿ˜ฑ๐Ÿ† #ZiggoSport #LeagueCupFinal #MCITOT
โ€” Ziggo Sport Football (@ZS_Voetbal) April 25, 2021