Update: Barça does not agree to settlement proposal Messi and appeals

Lionel Messi received a suspension of two matches after his red card in the match with Athletic Bilbao. The Argentine lacks the confrontations of FC Barcelona against Cornellà (Copa del Rey) and Elche (Primera División).

That‘s what the Spanish prosecutor announced on Tuesday afternoon. Messi made a slapping movement towards Bilbao player Asier Villalibre and arbitrator Jesús Gil Manzano decided to send him off the field after interference of the VAR. It was the first red card for Messi in the service of Barcelona.
There was feared for a long absention of Messi, but the damage is limited to two matches. As a result, he misses the matches against Cornellà and Elche and is again against Bilbao on Sunday 31 January. He can make up for his mistake in the final of the Spanish Supercup, which Barcelona eventually lost after penalty kicks.
Update: Barcelona disagrees with the Spanish prosecutor’
s proposal to suspend Lionel Messi for two matches. In the final of the Spanish Supercup, the Argentine made a slapping movement in the direction of Athletic Bilbao player Asier Villalibre.
The Spanish superpower relies on the fact that Messi never received a red card in his Barcelona career and that it was an ‘attacking action of Barcelona in the final stage of the final’.

â ¹ï¸ââ El FC Barcelona presenter to a Messi
— FC Barcelona (@FCBarcelona_cat) January 19, 2021